Need some help from you professionals! How do you solve the problem of users not seeing updates to your sites because their browsers have cached older versions? Is there any way to force site visitors to re-cache the site or just bypass caching all together?
Thanks very much for any help. Internet searches for this sent me in many directions and i just decided to pose the problem directly here.
btw.. very happy with the latest WYSIWYG version!
Forcing Browsers to re-cache Site
Forum rules
IMPORTANT NOTE!!
DO YOU HAVE A QUESTION OR PROBLEM AND WANT QUICK HELP?
THEN PLEASE SHARE A "DEMO" PROJECT.
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901
MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
IMPORTANT NOTE!!
DO YOU HAVE A QUESTION OR PROBLEM AND WANT QUICK HELP?
THEN PLEASE SHARE A "DEMO" PROJECT.
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901
MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
Re: Forcing Browsers to re-cache Site
One of the commands in .htaccess can do that, I believe - as long as your web server is Apache compatible. I'm not sure, but I also think there's something for NGINX servers too.
For .htaccess, try this:
# DISABLE CACHING
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"
Header set Pragma "no-cache"
Header set Expires 0
</IfModule>
Alan
For .htaccess, try this:
# DISABLE CACHING
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"
Header set Pragma "no-cache"
Header set Expires 0
</IfModule>
Alan
- BaconFries
-
- Posts: 5933
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm
Re: Forcing Browsers to re-cache Site
You can add the following code using Page Properties and inserting into Meta Tags>Meta Tags>User Define
Or via the use of .htacess
# DISABLE CACHING
You can also enable cache busting (Available since WBB16)
viewtopic.php?p=447106#p447106
Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="Expires" content="0" />
# DISABLE CACHING
Code: Select all
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"
Header set Pragma "no-cache"
Header set Expires 0
</IfModule>
viewtopic.php?p=447106#p447106
-
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2022 3:31 pm
Re: Forcing Browsers to re-cache Site
Thank you!alan_sh wrote: Wed Feb 05, 2025 11:33 pm One of the commands in .htaccess can do that, I believe - as long as your web server is Apache compatible. I'm not sure, but I also think there's something for NGINX servers too.
For .htaccess, try this:
# DISABLE CACHING
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate"
Header set Pragma "no-cache"
Header set Expires 0
</IfModule>
Alan
-
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2022 3:31 pm
Re: Forcing Browsers to re-cache Site
thank you !!BaconFries wrote: Wed Feb 05, 2025 11:34 pm You can add the following code using Page Properties and inserting into Meta Tags>Meta Tags>User DefineOr via the use of .htacessCode: Select all
<meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" /> <meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" /> <meta http-equiv="Expires" content="0" />
# DISABLE CACHINGYou can also enable cache busting (Available since WBB16)Code: Select all
<IfModule mod_headers.c> Header set Cache-Control "no-cache, no-store, must-revalidate" Header set Pragma "no-cache" Header set Expires 0 </IfModule>
viewtopic.php?p=447106#p447106