*** FALSE POSITIVE *** Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

All WYSIWYG Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
Post Reply
User avatar
Chris_t
 
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:39 pm

*** FALSE POSITIVE *** Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by Chris_t » Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:59 pm

I was in the middle of publishing a site I had updated and suddenly Malwarebytes pops up an alert saying that it had quarantined WWB14 (64bit) because it is Ransomware. I have been happily using this programme for months and this has never happened before. I have just removed it from quarantine in the hope I can get on with life.

Does anyone have any ideas about this?

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by BaconFries » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:04 pm

This is a 'False' positive there is no 'Ransomware', no Viruses' no Malware' what so ever. :shock: Please add the program to your list of exceptions of Malwarebytes to resolve.

User avatar
Chris_t
 
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by Chris_t » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:06 pm

Thanks Baconfries. I knew it couldn't possibly be Ransomware. What a pain. Malwarebytes can be such a pain in the rear-end every so often.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by BaconFries » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:11 pm

You can run your own online test at the following with results from 70+ test engine's including Malwarebytes.
https://www.virustotal.com/

User avatar
Chris_t
 
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by Chris_t » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:11 pm

I'm having a problem adding it to the exceptions list. It says I don't have permission ??

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14113
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: *** FALSE POSITIVE *** Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by Pablo » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:50 pm

I'm having a problem adding it to the exceptions list. It says I don't have permission ??
You will need to contact the makers of Malwarebytes for assistance with this.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: *** FALSE POSITIVE *** Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by BaconFries » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:58 pm

As Pablo answer or see the following
https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/1 ... nistrator/

User avatar
Chris_t
 
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: *** FALSE POSITIVE *** Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by Chris_t » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:00 pm

Malwarebytes had locked the WebBuilder.exe file. I couldn't even reinstall, so I deleted the file with an admin command prompt and then I was able to reinstall WWB14 and add the exe to the exceptions list in Malwarebytes. I have been able to publish my site (it did run pretty slowly but it eventually got there) and it seems OK now.

Thanks for your help BaconFries and Pablo.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: *** FALSE POSITIVE *** Malwarebytes says WWB14 is Ransomware ?!?!?

Post by BaconFries » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:08 pm

👌👍

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests