PayPal Buy Now Buttons

This forum is dedicated to discussions about shopping carts/ecommerce.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901
Post Reply
TarotPerSe
 
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 11:54 pm

PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by TarotPerSe »

I tried to put "PayPal Buy Now" buttons on my website but they are not working. I put all the necessary info in it and still does not work. I went to PayPal to fill in one from there and it will work. The problem with that is I have to put a html code in for the button, and really don't want to do that cuz it is hard to put a placement correctly on the site. I can put it on my webbuilder in one certain place but go to see it online and it is way off. So My main question is why doesn't the PayPal button work in the site builder. Paypal reads me as some information is incorrect. But I am putting in the same info in both places. Your help is most appreciated.
Jeannine
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21508
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by Pablo »

What exactly 'does not work'?
Do you have an example, so I can see what you have done?

Note that if there were any known issues with this feature then they would have already been fixed. This option has been available for many years now.

You can use an HTML object to add custom code to the page, the code will be insterted at the specified position.
User avatar
CosmickGold
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 6:31 pm
Location: Arlington, Texas
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by CosmickGold »

I'm in the same situation. I also gave the native PayPal button a try. *Yuk!*

You can see my WB "Pay Now" button (if using a desktop) at http://WebViews.us.
It is inside the bottom accordion layer.

My business account with PayPal told me the Business Account is working and ready.
But the WB "Pay Now" button gives me a PayPal page that simply says:
"Things don't appear to be working at the moment. Please try again later."

I tried contacting PayPal about it yesterday. They have not responded yet.

Here's the form my WB "Buy Now" button sends:

Code: Select all

<form action="https://www.sandbox.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" id="PayPal1_form" method="post" style="margin:0;padding:0;" target="PayPal">
<input type="hidden" name="business" value="WebViews.us@gMail.com">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="item_name" value="DreamLight">
<input type="hidden" name="item_number" value="DL101">
<input type="hidden" name="amount" value="$9.98">
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<input type="hidden" name="shipping" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="shipping2" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="handling" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="return" value="http://www.webviews.us/ThankYou.html">
<input type="hidden" name="cancel_return" value="http://www.webviews.us/oops.html">
<input type="hidden" name="lc" value="US">
<input type="hidden" name="undefined_quantity" value="1">
<input type="hidden" name="receiver_email" value="WebViews.us@gMail.com">
<input type="hidden" name="no_shipping" value="2">
<input type="hidden" name="no_note" value="1">
<input id="PayPal1" type="image" name="submit" src="images/BuyLight.png" style="position:absolute;" alt="Make payments with PayPal, it's fast, free, and secure!">
</form>
My contact info: WebViews.us@gmail.com
User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 5316
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by BaconFries »

You have set the button to use "sandbox" as this is really only for testing (demo) it should not be used for the purpose of allowing users to purchase. Please uncheck this and republish. Please note that PayPal buttons in the program use the same code that would be generated by PayPal themselves.
User avatar
CosmickGold
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 6:31 pm
Location: Arlington, Texas
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by CosmickGold »

That makes sense, BaconFries; but after taking off the SandBox, the result is exactly the same.
My contact info: WebViews.us@gmail.com
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21508
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by Pablo »

The error on the PayPal website indicates that the specified amount is invalid. You should not include a dollar sign.
User avatar
CosmickGold
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 6:31 pm
Location: Arlington, Texas
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by CosmickGold »

THAT FIXED IT!

Thanks bunches! ;)
My contact info: WebViews.us@gmail.com
User avatar
stevieb
 
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:05 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by stevieb »

my paypal html (I input the code into a "Layer" box) not showing in wysiwyg but does show (online) if I "Preview" it. (site not "Published" yet)
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21508
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by Pablo »

To be able to help you, I need to see what you have done.
User avatar
stevieb
 
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:05 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by stevieb »

Pablo wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 2:19 pm To be able to help you, I need to see what you have done.
Hi here's the code:
<form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post" target="_top">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="9THFSASQ4UA6Y">
<table>
<tr><td><input type="hidden" name="on0" value="Membership Options">Membership Options</td></tr><tr><td><select name="os0">
<option value="Patron">Patron : $75.00 USD - yearly</option>
<option value="Supporting">Supporting : $55.00 USD - yearly</option>
<option value="Basic">Basic : $35.00 USD - yearly</option>
</select> </td></tr>
<tr><td><input type="hidden" name="on1" value="Select Join or Renew">Select Join or Renew</td></tr><tr><td><select name="os1">
<option value="Select">Select </option>
<option value="JOIN">JOIN </option>
<option value="RENEW">RENEW </option>
</select> </td></tr>
<tr><td><input type="hidden" name="on2" value="Name">Name</td></tr><tr><td><input type="text" name="os2" maxlength="200"></td></tr>
<tr><td><input type="hidden" name="on3" value="Email">Email</td></tr><tr><td><input type="text" name="os3" maxlength="200"></td></tr>
</table>
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<input type="image" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/b ... eCC_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
<img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
</form>
User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 5316
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by BaconFries »

The code will not display the button within the program, for it to show you will need to publish first.
User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 2729
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by crispy68 »

what do you mean by
my paypal html (I input the code into a "Layer" box) not showing in wysiwyg
You are only going to see the form when you preview/publish. The form wont show up in the workspace.
User avatar
stevieb
 
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:05 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by stevieb »

My Paypal buttons are not working. I used the code from paypal as wwb only has a "single" product button. I need a button with three different price choices. The url is http://newyorkcalligraphersguild.com/Jo ... Guild.html
The code given is:
<div id="Layer1" style="position:absolute;text-align:center;width:421px;height:232px;" <form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post" target="_top">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="BRQYEXLRBAYXA">
<table>
<tr><td><input type="hidden" name="on0" value="Membership Options">Membership Options</td></tr><tr><td><select name="os0">
<option value="Patron">Patron $75.00 USD</option>
<option value="Supporting">Supporting $55.00 USD</option>
<option value="Basic">Basic $35.00 USD</option>
</select> </td></tr>
<tr><td><input type="hidden" name="on1" value="Select Join or Renew">Select Join or Renew</td></tr><tr><td><select name="os1">
<option value="Join or Renew">Join or Renew </option>
<option value="Join">Join </option>
<option value="Renew">Renew </option>
</select> </td></tr>
</table>
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<input type="image" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/b ... wCC_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
<img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
</form>
>
<div id="Layer1_Container" style="width:419px;position:relative;margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;text-align:left;">
</div>
</div>
How to make this happen?
User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 2729
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by crispy68 »

What do you mean by "it's not working"? When I view your page, i can see the Paypal button along with the choices. I assume you mean if the Buy Now button is clicked it doesnt work. The ">" in your code after </form> should be removed.
User avatar
stevieb
 
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:05 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by stevieb »

crispy68 wrote: Thu Aug 19, 2021 8:55 pm What do you mean by "it's not working"? When I view your page, i can see the Paypal button along with the choices. I assume you mean if the Buy Now button is clicked it doesnt work. The ">" in your code after </form> should be removed.
I removed the ">" but the buy now button still does not work
User avatar
stevieb
 
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2021 9:05 pm

Re: PayPal Buy Now Buttons

Post by stevieb »

I am trying to get the paypal button code to work but am unsure if I have to make a "layer container" to place the code into it, or do I put the html code into something else. If so, what?
Got it! I needed to make an "HTML" box as opposed to a "layer container" Yes, my wife figured it out.
Thanks.
Post Reply