Site Search

Issues related to hyperlinks and web site navigation.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/links.html
Post Reply
laros
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:50 pm

Site Search

Post by laros » Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:08 pm

Hello,

On a website www.dejavnost.si i have a SITE SEARCH. I have set the results to be shown on "another page". And when i click in the site search, it does transfer me to the wanted page, but it doesnt show the results, neither it say that there are no results. Just nothing.

I have checked all the walkthrough on the WYSIWYG website and did it like it say, but somehow it doesn't work.

Any idea why?

Thanks in advance!

alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: SITE SEARCH IS NOT WORKING

Post by alan_sh » Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:11 pm

Can you create a subset of your web site (in WWB) which shows the problem and post the .wbs file somewhere we can get at? That way we can see what you have done and can help.

Alan

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 24240
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: SITE SEARCH IS NOT WORKING

Post by Pablo » Fri Jun 11, 2021 5:51 am

It does not look like you have followed the instructions from the help. For example, there is no inline frame on the results page.
Make sure all steps from the help have been done.

If you need further assistance then please share a demo project so I can see all your settings.
Visit this FAQ for more details:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=82134

laros
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:50 pm

Re: SITE SEARCH IS NOT WORKING

Post by laros » Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:17 am

Pablo wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 5:51 am
It does not look like you have followed the instructions from the help. For example, there is no inline frame on the results page.
Make sure all steps from the help have been done.

If you need further assistance then please share a demo project so I can see all your settings.
Visit this FAQ for more details:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=82134
I have only founded a walkthrough of results to be shown in "another object". But i need it to be on another page inside the website.
I did point it out to another page, but it doesnt show any results. If possible i wouldnt want to be shown in inline frame, but on layer that i choose.

Is it possible?

Thank you!

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 24240
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:18 am

Did you read the instructions in the help (F1)?

Site Search -> Show results in another page

laros
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:50 pm

Re: Site Search

Post by laros » Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:32 am

Pablo wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:18 am
Did you read the instructions in the help (F1)?

Site Search -> Show results in another page
Yes, i have read it many times in the last 2 days, but somehow it doesnt show anything.

It says:

Step 1
- Add a new page to the project (for example 'search_results').
- Add an inline frame to the new page. This is where the results will be displayed.
- Add a 'Site Search' object.
- Select 'Show results in an Inline Frame'
- Click the drop-down box to the right of that and select the name of the Inline Frame
Note that now you will also be able to search on the result page.

Important: make sure that the Inline frame display an initial page. Some browsers will not display the page if there is no content in the inline frame.
For example: you can create a new internal page that displays some text like 'This area will display the search results'. Then set that page in the 'Link to' property of the Inline frame, so that page will initially be displayed.

Step 2
- Go back to the page you were working on.
- Add a 'Site Search' object.
- Select 'Show results in another page'
- Click the 'Settings' and select the 'search_results' page.

But i think something is missing, i must do something i havent, but i dont know what. I dont understand Step 2. It says that you have to select "search results" page, which i did, but how does it know where exactly to show the results?

Any idea?

thank you

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 24240
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:46 am

Is this your result page?
https://www.dejavnost.si/rezultat.html

Where is the inline frame?

Note: I cannot see what you have done based on the published page.

Tip: start at the basics. So, first create a page with nothing else but the search elements.

laros
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:50 pm

Re: Site Search

Post by laros » Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:57 am

Pablo wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:46 am
Is this your result page?
https://www.dejavnost.si/rezultat.html

Where is the inline frame?

Note: I cannot see what you have done based on the published page.

Tip: start at the basics. So, first create a page with nothing else but the search elements.
Yes, that is the result page. And an inline frame is at the top with the test on it as "INLINE FRAME".

Interesting is that i managed it to work in another object and in a new browser window. But i cant make it on another page.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 24240
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:07 pm

I cannot see what you have done based on the published page.
If you need further assistance then please share a demo project

Post Reply