Web Stats

This section is for posting questions which are not directly related to WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Examples of off topics: web server configuration, hosting, programming related questions, third party scripts.

Note that these questions will generally not be answered by the administrators of this forum.
Post Reply
deejayw
 
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:12 am

Web Stats

Post by deejayw » Fri Aug 24, 2018 2:30 pm

I'm looking at an alternative to 'Analytics' for my site (which work well in Page Properties | Meta Tags | User Defined)

ShinyStat provides a hit counter or logo in their snippet
"Insert the HTML code

To properly insert the HTML code into your web pages and for the correct functioning of the service, you need to make sure that:
- the code is inserted without any changes (including line breaks);
- the code is inserted just before the closing tag in all the pages of the web site.

By positioning the code at the end of the page, the correct functioning of the service is guaranteed. This also allows to comply with one of the international Internet audience measurement standards (as per IAB guidelines). Only in this way, every page will be entirely loaded and viewed by the visitor before ShinyStat™ measures it.

<!-- Begin ShinyStat Code -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="//codice.shinystat.com/cgi-bin/getcod.cgi?USER=username"></script>
<noscript>
<a href="http://www.shinystat.com" target="_top">
<img src="//www.shinystat.com/cgi-bin/shinystat.cgi?USER=username" alt="Free counters" style="border:0px" /></a>
</noscript>
<!-- End ShinyStat Code -->"


Given that the counter/logo will ideally sit visibly at/near the bottom of the page/s, how can I achieve this ? "Closing Tag" is a bit ambigous!

andyp
 
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: Web Stats

Post by andyp » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:50 am

Try Statcounter and just insert via an HTML object and place wherever you want..... has never failed to work for me...
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

deejayw
 
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:12 am

Re: Web Stats

Post by deejayw » Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:03 pm

andyp : I would imagine that the same issue arises if you want to display the providers hit counter ?

andyp
 
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: Web Stats

Post by andyp » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:04 pm

I dont have any problems with showing the hit counter in any position that I want?

www.dwc-uk.com go to the bottom of the page on the right...
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

deejayw
 
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:12 am

Re: Web Stats

Post by deejayw » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:41 am

Thanks andyp: Interesting! On Desktop, Firefox didn't show the counter. Opera didn't show the footer! Chrome showed the whole thing. IE64 showed the whole thing with the counter in a slightly different position. The neat formatting of the subscribe dialogue was lost in Firefox too.
So, considering my original issue, and my superficial knowledge of html, where did you put the counter code and how did you control the visible position? I had a look at the code for the home page in Chrome and the only reference I found was the last line before </body>, (it is there in Firefox too) but again, no indication of how visible positioning is controlled.
What is in the StatCounter snippet?
Cheers.

andyp
 
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: Web Stats

Post by andyp » Sun Aug 26, 2018 10:22 am

I dont know what problems you are seeing in the browsers?

Looks fine to me in Chrome - FF - Opera - Edge .. I dont have IE64

Are you using any Ad Blockers of any description?

Anyway.. just open up an account in statcounter and choose the type of counter you want.

Get the HTML code (copy to clipboard) and in WB 4 got to View>Tools>Standard>HTML and drag this to the work space> Double click on it and past it in.

In Description just put something like 'Counter'

From here you can put it into any position you want.. its as simple as that
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4166
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Web Stats

Post by BaconFries » Sun Aug 26, 2018 10:31 am

Get the HTML code (copy to clipboard) and in WB 4
Wow..... andyp WB4 don't you think it time to upgrade.....lol and I do know a man that with give you a great deal if you do :D

andyp
 
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: Web Stats

Post by andyp » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:12 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I presume that WB4 was a chalk and slate affair :)
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests