Scaling on 4K screen

This section is for posting questions which are not directly related to WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Examples of off topics: web server configuration, hosting, programming related questions, third party scripts.

Note that these questions will generally not be answered by the administrators of this forum.
Post Reply
gramae
 
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 1:47 am

Scaling on 4K screen

Post by gramae » Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:56 am

I have recently upgraded to a 4k screen 3840 x 2160px and WYSIWYG text is not perfectly defined and slightly fuzzy.This includes menus etc also.
If I tick the high DPI box all is well defined but very small.
Is there any plans to allow the program to scale to the screen size, as some of the other programs I use , do this, eg Photoshop, Directory Opus and others.
I use Windows 10 which attempts to sort this problem, but does not in every case.

kenmed
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by kenmed » Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:01 am

Same problem when I use the 64-version of the programme but it works well on my laptop in 32-version. 4K, same settings, HP Spectre.
ken

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 13553
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:08 am

If you enable high DPI support, the text will scale (this is standard Windows functionality).
In the future WWB may also implement different icons for different resolutions. But it will be a lot of work to redesign all icons.

gramae
 
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 1:47 am

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by gramae » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:14 pm

It is probably a Windows function then, but there is significant differences between various programs.
Uploaded some screen grabs. http://www.meltec.co.nz/screengrabs.zip

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 13553
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:27 pm

The screenshot seems to be ok. The text does not look 'fuzzy' as far as I can tell.
What is the exact problem?

gramae
 
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 1:47 am

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by gramae » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:44 pm

The text and icons are a bit fuzzy on my screen, are you viewing on a 4K screen ?

gramae
 
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 1:47 am

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by gramae » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:56 pm

I have also uploaded a screen grab with Hi dpi box selected.
http://www.meltec.co.nz/hidpi.png

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 13553
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by Pablo » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:59 am

I'm sorry but I do not see any issues in the screenshot. Can you please be more specific?

kenmed
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by kenmed » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:02 am

Do you have the 64-version or the 32-version of the programme? When I tried the 64 Igot the same result but it works perfect with the 32-version on 4K -screen.
ken

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 13553
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by Pablo » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:19 am

I am looking at your screenshot and trying to see what the problem is.
Where in your screenshot do I need to look to see the issue?

Please note that 64bit version is still in beta, so all my replies is related to the 32bit version.

kenmed
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by kenmed » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:31 am

Everything is so small. If you look on a screen not 4K it look normal but not on my laptop with 4K-screen.
ken

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 13553
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Scaling on 4K screen

Post by Pablo » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:59 am

If High DPI support is enabled then the application will use your system's font settings. This is standard Windows functionality (https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx), so the font size should be the same as other (standard) windows applications.
Maybe you are running the application is compatibility mode?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest