Breakpoints.

Questions related to the Responsive Web Design tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/respon ... esign.html
Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the example project to get an idea how the RWD concept works.

Responsive Web Design FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
Post Reply
User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:30 am

Hi everyone..

I'm working with 3 Breakpoints - Default,357 and 768. The page has a number of items on it.
eg .The page Height for the 768 Breakpoint is 3569 so you can see it isn't small.

The problems I have is on the Default Breakpoint, when viewed - is has lots of space
at the bottom of the page. On the 768 Breakpoint with the Height set to 3369 all works well
same with the 357 Breakpoint at the Height of 3760 - it's just the Default Breakpoint which seems
to have the problem?

My Question is, are all the Breakpoints independent when it comes to sizes?
also if I hide a object by mistake (should have used "Hide in other Breakpoints") how do you unhide the
object?

thanks & regards
Martin..
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14529
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by Pablo » Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:34 am

Please see 'There is a large is empty space at the bottom (or right side) of my page' in the FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:24 am

Pablo wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:34 am
Please see 'There is a large is empty space at the bottom (or right side) of my page' in the FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
Hi Pablo..
thanks for the pointer - but what happens if your "Default breakpoint" is smaller then the other breakpoint (in Height)
you can't unhide and then move the items from the other breakpoints into the Default. as suggested in the above workaround.
I am I missing something here?

thanks again
Martin...
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14529
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by Pablo » Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:57 pm

The default breakpoint is always the largeste view. Breakpoints are never wider.
you can't unhide and then move the items from the other breakpoints into the Default.
Why not? You can unhide objects in the object manager

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:14 pm

Pablo wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:57 pm
The default breakpoint is always the largeste view. Breakpoints are never wider.
you can't unhide and then move the items from the other breakpoints into the Default.
Why not? You can unhide objects in the object manager
Sorry I misunderstood - But after reading the link again within the Default Breakpoint and having Render Hidden Objects ticked - I moved
all the items which where outside the Default size this included Breakpoints 375 & 768. I then checked to see if anything
had moved around in 375/758 and everything was fine - viewed the page locally and Default size is still showing
the space at the bottom of the page.. :roll:

I have even taken the zoom right down to 33% just to make sure that no objects had dropped under the radar.
do I keep looking or just delete the page and start again?

thanks & regards
Martin...
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14529
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by Pablo » Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:22 pm

To be able to help you I need to see what you have done.
However, I am pretty sure there are objects outside the viewport otherwise this would not happen.

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:00 pm

Pablo wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:22 pm
To be able to help you I need to see what you have done.
However, I am pretty sure there are objects outside the viewport otherwise this would not happen.
I think I know where the problem is coming from - I'm using "shape" for the length page to the
last Object -in n 375 & 768 this is well past viewport! All I have to do now is workout a different
way of dong it.

thanks & regards
Martin....
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:10 pm

Pablo wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:22 pm
To be able to help you I need to see what you have done.
However, I am pretty sure there are objects outside the viewport otherwise this would not happen.
Well here I am again - still got the same problem so need Pablo or someone to have a look and tell me where
I'm going wrong! (will be very grateful as starting to hit the wall now with my head :? )

One or two points that I have taken onboard.

1) I have used the "Render Hidden Objects" on the default page - and I can't see any objects that are
outside the viewpoint.
2) The 375 BP is fine and looks well on a iPhone same with 768 BP no problems on a iPad
3) Just using layers on all BP

It's just the default page size which has the gap at the bottom.



thanks & regards
Martin...
Last edited by MartinPorter on Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14529
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by Pablo » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:31 pm

I have found the following objects outside the viewport:
Text56
Image51
Image52

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:41 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:31 pm
I have found the following objects outside the viewport:
Text56
Image51
Image52
Hi Pablo

Can you tell me how you got to find them? in the object manager I have made Text56 visible
but still cant find it? even zoomed out to 66% ( this is on the Default)

thanks & regards
Martin...
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:51 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:31 pm
I have found the following objects outside the viewport:
Text56
Image51
Image52
Hi Pablo
I have deleted the items - and it's sorted the problem out, I but I can't see how they there where outside
the view point when it was located within a layer?

thanks & regards
Martin...
Thanks & regards
Martin....

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14529
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by Pablo » Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:30 pm

I found the objects by using the browser's debugger (F12).
I but I can't see how they there where outside the view point when it was located within a layer?
If the objects were not outside the viewport then they would not affect the page size...

If you learn how to use the browser debugger then can instantly how it affects the layout.

User avatar
MartinPorter
 
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Breakpoints.

Post by MartinPorter » Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:33 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:30 pm
I found the objects by using the browser's debugger (F12).
I but I can't see how they there where outside the view point when it was located within a layer?
If the objects were not outside the viewport then they would not affect the page size...

If you learn how to use the browser debugger then can instantly how it affects the layout.
Thanks - Pablo, and point taken! :D
Thanks & regards
Martin....

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests