[rz] Elegant Scroll *** UPD 2016-Jul-02 ***

In this section you can announce self-made paid extensions.
*** THIS SECTION CONTAINS PAID EXTENSIONS ONLY ***
presto
 
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by presto » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:17 pm

Hi Jordan,

thank you very much for your ideas and your support.

On the first glance your function seems to work fine - but with only one exception:

When you call or refresh a page then one tab is already set to "active". Now clicking on this active tab it triggers the scroll and only after that the class is added. If you at first click on an inactive tab, your function does what it is supposed to do.

Any idea how to solve that?

Edit: I have changed the event from "click" to "mouseenter" and it works. But I still have to test it on an iPad.

Best regards from Germany

jordan
 
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by jordan » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:51 pm

hehe presto your question actually makes for a simpler solution … replace what I wrote for ...

===============================
<script type="text/javascript">
$(function (){setTimeout(function() {$('#jQueryTabs1 li').addClass('scrollable_navigation')}, 0)});
</script>
===============================

presto
 
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by presto » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:27 pm

Thanks jordan, it works great.

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by [RZ] » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:38 pm

@jordan
in my humble opinion, this way you force the user to remember to add/edit/remove a patch for each jquery tabs he may add, delete or modify... otherwise the page will have runtime errors.
@presto
seeing you are fine with the jordan's patch, i decided not to release an update.

with regards

jordan
 
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by jordan » Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:07 am

[RZ] wrote:@jordan
in my humble opinion, this way you force the user to remember to add/edit/remove a patch for each jquery tabs he may add, delete or modify... otherwise the page will have runtime errors.
@presto
seeing you are fine with the jordan's patch, i decided not to release an update.

with regards
hi rz

wow, don't know where this comes from… but …
which runtime errors ? there are no runtime errors even if you remove or add a 100 WB jQueryTabs-sss ?
I was just trying to help, it appears you don't like that, so from now on I will stay out of your way, no problemO!
if you think it's a bad solution then why not release a better solution, I hope you create an extension solution for presto despite any personal dislike(?)

cheers and have a nice day anyway! . :shock: .

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by [RZ] » Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:45 am

no jordan, you took this 100% wrong.
anyway, i tell what/where i meant run time errors:
$(function (){setTimeout(function() {$('#jQueryTabs1 li').addClass('scrollable_navigation')}, 0)});

you must correctly type in the #object_id, or change it, or add new lines like this one for every jquery tabs object you add/remove/modify[its id], not for every tab you add/remove in the jquery tabs object.

for a not so advanced user (i'm not meaning any member, just an example) this may be not so clear if some time he changes something in the design.
if the function points to a non existent #selector, the page will have errors.

where i said "a bad solution"? instead of this, i said "in my humble opinion, this way you force the user to remember... [etc]"

if the user is happy with your code, and is working fine for him, why i need to reinvent the wheel?
as i stated, i'm not familiar with the jquery tabs object, i just looked at the generated code and i must be 100% sure how it works, and if there are other variants that can be generated in the code depending on the object's settings. that's all...

and btw, i'm not at all as you may think about me, not only i'm not a prideful/arrogant person, also i have no time to be so irritable. again, i gave you my very personal opinion about the proposed line of code, and if the user is happy with it, it is 100% fine and good. hey man, don't be so sensitive lol!

a very nice day for you too!

jordan
 
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by jordan » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:27 am

the point that made me frown was not if you liked my help or not
if you don't you don't, if you do you do, that's a moo point
but the fact that you stated that you would not release an update

a selector like that will not create a runtime error even if you would forget about it ...it would be sloppy
but yes, I think it's better to have an internal extension solution, that was the shock face for, I was convinced you would see it that way too

like I said, I was just trying to help, if you like it then that's great, if you don't that's fine too, no sensitivity here
but not if it hurts a WB user, then it's not a moo point, that was the fuzz of my writing

anyway, presto will be on your tail if he does not like it I suspect . :mrgreen: .

presto
 
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by presto » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:35 am

Hi [rz] and jordan:
both of you have given me a great help to design my site properly. Many thanks to you. There is no need to start to argue, be happy - as I am: I have written my own extension now, just for my personal use, using [rz] original code plus the addition jordan had posted .not('a[href*="jquerytabs"]'). And of course gave credit to [rz] and jordan inside of the extension :D It works excellent with jordans addition and I only can give the advice to [rz] to add this little peace of code to his extension.
Last edited by presto on Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jul-28-2012 ***

Post by [RZ] » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:48 am

too much for me... and very late here, have a good night men...

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jun-03-2013 ***

Post by [RZ] » Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:35 pm

* About new version 1.0.3

Added compatibility with [rz] Preloaded Links extensions.

mnwitten
 
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:29 am
Location: Newfoundland, PA
Contact:

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jun-03-2013 ***

Post by mnwitten » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:35 pm

[RZ]...I'm running into an repeating issue with all the smooth scrolls including yours. I was hoping you may be able to provide some help or direction.

I put up a test to show this issue. If you browse to http://www.paupackplunge.com/scroll you can click on the "test" text on top and you will notice that it scrolls to the anchor, but not using a smooth scroll. Repeated tries will work...however. But if you browse to http://www.paupackplunge.com/scroll/index.html you can click on the "test" text on top and the smooth scroll works even the first time. I've narrowed this down to the lack of the index.html in the URL. If you watch the brower's address bar, as long as the index.html is there...it works. When it is not there...it doesn't.

Are you aware of any way to correct this? I believe that if the URL contains the page name, everything will work fine. But how do I force this to occur without playing with redirection? Maybe something in htaccess? And I don't want to mess up SEO and indexing of the actual website where I'm looking to use this. I am also surprised that this hasn't been reported to you and the other smooth scroll extension builders as it seems like a real obvious issue. Basically, if you use a smooth scroll on an index page on a .COM, the first smooth scroll will simply jump to the anchor instead of smoothly scrolling.

Any suggestions, thoughts or ideas?

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jun-03-2013 ***

Post by [RZ] » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:46 pm

please note that this is not an issue.
you should contact your hosting about the htaccess file, because it may be vary in each service/configuration provider.
you can use the preloader/redirector to avoid the "issue" you are reporting, but if you don't want that solution you should choose for the paid one, but it is undergoing an internal improvement and is not released yet, it can be ready in a few weeks.

Batusz
 
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jun-03-2013 ***

Post by Batusz » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:13 pm

Dear RZ

I could not scrolling to Bookmark

please send sample file,


Thank you

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jun-03-2013 ***

Post by [RZ] » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:35 pm

without seeing what you did it is impossible to give an useful advice
anyhow:
have you read the instructions file attached in the downloaded zip?

from the info file:

* Important note

In page properties, you must select a center page option, this means, you cannot have the "Do not center this page in the browser window" option selected.

Batusz
 
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Elegant Scroll *** UPDATED Jun-03-2013 ***

Post by Batusz » Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:35 am

sorry, I'm not doing something right

yes downloaded zip files

1. create big text block
2. I will place the bookmark
3, pageproperties _ Do not center this page in the browser window
4. use extension
5. create button

dont scroll , ..... jump......

Post Reply