CMS with template?

Issues related to the CMS tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_tools.html
A lot of information about the Content Manager System can be found in the help/manual. Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the demo template that is include with the software.

CMS trouble shooting / FAQ:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=43245
Post Reply
netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Mon Jan 18, 2016 7:14 pm

Hi... I have a potential client who requires CMS for his used car site. The layout is here:http://www.wix.com/website-template/vie ... y=business

He will need to update the Hot On The Lot section (add/delete as needed).

What would be the best approach here. I am thinking some kind of template perhaps (image, description/price).

The is an RWD as well.

Thanks.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:34 pm

I'm sorry it is not possible to use a wix template in Web Builder. wix uses a dedicated format which cannot be used by other software.
But of course you can try to rebuild it with WYSIWYG Web Builder.

netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:52 pm

The Wix site is just an example to show what the client wants, not that I will use it.

Can I design a CMS that meets his needs? He needs to be able to change cars maybe a few times a week in the Hot On The Lot section of the Home page.

If so, what is the best approach?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:14 am


netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:44 pm

I went through the tools, watched the Brian Holder video, tried the newswriter, but do not see how I can reproduce what he wants on the demo Wix site.

What I am envisioning is that when he logs into the admin area, he can see the existing Hot On The Lot section and make changes by adding/deleting cars (images,description, and prices).

Can this be done in WWB?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:06 pm

You can use the CMS tools to create content that can be edited online.

Step 1:
Create the layout (frame) of the website

Step 2:
Insert the CMS view where you want the editable content to appear on the website

Step 3:
Publish the website and create the initial content of the CMS.

Your client can now make the changes when you give him access to the CMS part of the website.

Example:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_tools.html

netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:41 pm

Thanks.

Because this is an RWD, how is this handled?

For example, if admin has 4 images across the top, how will other breakpoints deal with it if tablet is 2 images, and mobile is 1 image?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:45 pm

The content will be the same in all breakpoints. However the content of the CMS is floating, so object will wrap to the next line if they do not fit in side the CMS View.

netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Tue Jan 19, 2016 5:27 pm

What happens with an image that is more than 320 px (e.g.,500 px wide)? What happens in that case at the mobile breakpoint?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:07 pm

The content will not change in breakpoints.

netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:46 pm

So if I keep images less than 320, I should be ok.

I placed 4 images, each 300x400 in CMS admin to see what happens.

Problem now is it does not show up in the CMS View on home page. I had no errors. I have the same server info in both CMS View and CMS Admin.

Test site is here: http://www.digitalkrypto.com/ben/. CMS View is white area.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:21 pm

If there is no content then most likely your settings are incorrect.
Please start at the basics. First try to make the demo work.

Related (must read) information:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=43245
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_tools.html

netmarketer
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: CMS with template?

Post by netmarketer » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:32 pm

It was because "Home" was set to No and CMS View was on the index.php page.

I created another page (page2.php) and in CMS Admin, I created another page (page2cms) and added content. Content is missing from page2.php. How does CMS View on page2.php know to insert page2cms content? How are they linked?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 20123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CMS with template?

Post by Pablo » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:49 pm

The idea behind the CMS is that you add all your content to one page.
The 'frame' of all these pages is the same. You use the menu to switch between content. See the demo.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests