Using the CMS

Issues related to the CMS tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_tools.html
A lot of information about the Content Manager System can be found in the help/manual. Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the demo template that is include with the software.

CMS trouble shooting / FAQ:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=43245
skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:24 pm

Hello Pablo, I am trying to install the CMS using the default template: "CMS"....and did set up a database on our client's server at Omnis.com. I simply do not understand what the instructions page is saying...."you can change the table prefix, the default value is CMS_.The required tables will automatically be generated when you run the admin tool the first time." I changed the table prefix to CMS_ but the admin page did not recognize the database and returned error messages: Failed to connect to database server!
No such file or directory
Also, I have no idea what the following is referring to:
To make the template work on your website you need to configure the MySQL properties of the following objects:
• CMS Admin object, this object is placed on the 'administrator' page of the template.• CMS View object, this object is placed on the 'content' page of the template.
On the CMS template, it already appears that a CMS Admin object has been placed...is this correct? Where should I be configuring the MySQL properties? Any help you can offer is appreciated.
One more question: The CMS is intended to be similar to a Blog (wine tip Wednesday), where new content is added each week. Is there a way to archive previous weeks? Thank you! Steve

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:10 am

Please note that using the CMS tools require some basic knowlegde of MySQL. That is not something I can teach you.

Did you create a database on your the server?

There is no need to change the CMS_ prefix. I recommend to leave all default settings unless you have a good reason to change them.
On the CMS template, it already appears that a CMS Admin object has been placed...is this correct?
Correct
Where should I be configuring the MySQL properties?
In the properties of the CMS objects.
Image
One more question: The CMS is intended to be similar to a Blog (wine tip Wednesday), where new content is added each week. Is there a way to archive previous weeks?
I'm sorry, there is no option for that.

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:41 pm

Hello Pablo,
Thank you very much for your input. I did get everything to work in the demo CMS and I added content and a YouTube video.
If you would like to view what was done, here is the login to the demo CMS admin:
User: lawre006_G3-WTW
PW: password

The site in it's current state:
http://ldvwinery.com/dev/ (Please note the large black area above the first image, which should be positioned at the top! ...any ideas why that is happening?) - The blank area below "Wine Tip Wednesday" with bottles in the background is where the CMS content should go. We did enter the login credentials in the CMS view SQL database fields....is that why the black area is showing up?

My questions:
1. How do I get the content to show up on the website that we are currently working on? It is not clear to me how that happens!
2. Do I need to modify the demo CMS template with the page layout(s) used for the site we are working on?
(other CMS that we have used on earlier websites simply referenced an iframe within a defined area on the page. Of course, your system is what we need to get my head around!)
3. The current site we are working on needs to be responsive and I was wondering if the "CMS View" will accommodate both the desktop and mobile versions of the site? We intend to use the breakpoints approach since the mobile version will require us to modify the page layouts to fit the format. Will the content in the CMS view "box" adjust to the size, or do we need to implement your article: http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_expand.html
THANK YOU! Steve

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:02 pm

1. It looks like the index page is not set to PHP.
2. What ever you want. You can use the template the basis for your website, or you can add the CMS tools to another project.
3. The CSM view is resizable and can have different sizes in breakpoints. However you cannot have different content in breakpoints.

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:22 pm

I changed the home page to index.php, saved locally and uploaded all pages... and now this messages comes up: Failed to connect to database server!
http://ldvwinery.com/dev/index.php
The same login credentials are in the properties of the CMS View "box" ....what do you recommend?
Thank you, Steve

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:31 pm

This can only mean that the settings are invalid.

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:43 pm

OK...if we go to the demo CMS site and login
http://ldvwinery.com/devCMS-WTW/administrator.html
user name: lawre006_G3-WTW
password: password
The content is seen on the content page: http://ldvwinery.com/devCMS-WTW/content.php
The database login credentials for the content on the demo is exactly the same as what was used for the CMS View container on the actual website's Home page. Is this NOT what I was supposed to do? I am somewhat confused as to how to link the content created on the demo site and having it show up on the actual website's home page in the CMS View container. Also, will the client go to the demo CMS site to make changes to the "Wine Tip Wednesday"?...or do we need to create our own admin area pages, using the demo?
Thanks again!, Steve

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:21 pm

The error on this page:
http://ldvwinery.com/dev/index.php
indicates that the settings are wrong. I cannot think of any other reason why this message would be displayed.

Please make sure that the MySQL settings are exactly the same.
You may see the difference by comparing the generated PHP code.

The demo is just an example. You can duplicate everything in your own project. There is nothing special in the demo that would not make it work in any other project.

Note that I cannot see what you have done based on the published pages only. I cannot access your settings or the PHP code.

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:59 pm

Hi Pablo,
I found the problem. The LDV Home page CMS View container had the wrong information listed in the properties for the name of the SQL Server. Once I corrected that, the content does show up on the page. However, the CMS View container did not scale to the size of the content. Here is a screen grab:
http://ldvwinery.com/dev/LDV-CMS-Content_03-12-18-a.jpg
In order to add some padding, should I place the CMS View container over the background in a smaller window?
And will I need to implement your article: http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_expand.html ...any Caveats here?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:10 am

In your screenshot it looks like the content is full width.
Is that not what you want?

It looks like you have added 'wb_' in front of the ID of the CMS View? This is not correct. This prefix will be added to the code automatically when needed.

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:53 pm

Hi Pablo,
Sorry...I should have been more clear. The window is not stretching vertically and that is what I expected. If the content in the CMS view has for example, more or less text each time a new post is created, we were expecting the "window" to adjust to the height.

In case you would like to access the home page online: http://ldvwinery.com/dev/ Note that the string of code next to the video, " scrolling="no" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/pg2FmvJF4-8?rel=0" width="560">" width="560">"> should not be there. How do we remove that?

And for the change in the CMS View ID, the instructions on this page (http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_expand.html) ...says that the cmsViewID needs to be "#wb_CmsView1". I was just following instuctions.
So...how can we make the CMS View container adjust to the height of the content?

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:55 pm

Hello again, I forgot to mention that the Wine Tip Wednesday content does scroll but the scroll bar does not show. Once in the content area, you can scroll to see the video and code next to the video insert. Thank you! Steve

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:08 pm

The window is not stretching vertically and that is what I expected.
The window will not stretch vertically, unless it is part of a flexible (using Layout grid). In fixed layout mode, all objects have a fixed size and position.
When objects are fixed, there is no way for browser CMS to know what to do with the objects below the CMS it unless you tell it what to do.
How do we remove that?
It looks like you have copied invalid code to the (online) editor.
And for the change in the CMS View ID, the instructions on this page (http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/cms_expand.html) ...says that the cmsViewID needs to be "#wb_CmsView1". I was just following instuctions.
Correct. But that doesn't mean that you need to change the ID of the object. The 'wb_' prefix will be added automatically to object (when needed).
So...how can we make the CMS View container adjust to the height of the content?
Use layout grids or implement the script from the tutorial to update the height via script.
Note that the tutorial is for advanced users, some coding knowledge is required!

skanaba
 
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:16 am

Re: Using the CMS

Post by skanaba » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:59 pm

OK...if I return the CMS View ID to "CMSView1" should the script from the tutorial should adjust the height? I did copy the entire string of code offered in the tutorial, only changing the javascript in Step 3 to show "#wb_CmsView1"...which I will change.
QUESTION: Should cmsBodyLayer = "#Layer1" be right above CMSView1? Currently, "Layer1" is the section on the page with the three image boxes, Our Wines, Our Story, and Wine Gallery.
Thank you! Steve

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Using the CMS

Post by Pablo » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:02 pm

OK...if I return the CMS View ID to "CMSView1" should the script from the tutorial should adjust the height?
Yes, if you have used the correct IDs and there are no other conflicts
QUESTION: Should cmsBodyLayer = "#Layer1" be right above CMSView1?
The layout you be exactly the same as in the demo, otherwise you may need to modify the code.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests