Change Image Folder

All WYSIWYG Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
Post Reply
userwys
 
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:14 am

Change Image Folder

Post by userwys » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:24 am

Hello

I want to create a new image folder. Now the location is something like www.domain.com/images but I want to change it and put the images in a subdomain. Something like www.images.domain.com/images

I don't know how to do it in Options >> Publish & Preview

(sorry for my english)

Thanks

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14153
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Pablo » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:35 am

If you want your image to be on another domain then you will need to use absolute paths.
So instead of addingthe image from your computer you will have to use 'Image from Internet': http://www.images.domain.com/images/filename.jpg
You can specify the URL in the properties of the image.

userwys
 
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:14 am

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by userwys » Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:32 am

Thank you

dmrowell
 
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:54 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by dmrowell » Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:58 am

I also wish to over-ride the default images folder concept, because I have thousands of images around my website, and need a way to manage them by placing them in somewhat sensible groupings.

So, for example, I have a page www.example.com/folder1/folder2/page.html

On that page I wish to have an image www.example.com/folder1/folder2/images/image1.jpg
and an image www.example.com/folder3/images/image2.jpg

I can set up the file structure in site manager, and place the images in the appropriate folders in file manager, but how do I insert them on the webpage? I've tried editing the filename property of the image, but I can't create a relative path, it insists on a full file path (and seems to want a local file address, not a url

Many thanks

David.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14153
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Pablo » Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:46 am

If you create a folder in the Site Manager then the images used on page in this folder will automatically be placed in sub folder.

Rick47
 
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:50 pm

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Rick47 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:39 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:46 am
If you create a folder in the Site Manager then the images used on page in this folder will automatically be placed in sub folder.
I am trying to have a dedicated image folder for my website as I have more than one website in my domain area.
The problem is that ALL images are expected to be in the same default image folder on my server, so that when same name images are generated they would overwrite the existing.
I have tried doing what you said and created a folder using the site manager - but where in the tree?
I added it as a separate entity and named it wimages - no image files were added at publish time.
I then moved all the pages into the folder and re-published - no image files were added.
I uploaded the published files to my server and moved the images into a subfolder of the same name - no images appear on my site.

What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14153
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Pablo » Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:21 pm

The target folder of images can be set in Tools->Options->Publish->Target folder for file types.

The Site Manager is for HTML pages only.

Rick47
 
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:50 pm

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Rick47 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:30 pm

Pablo wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:21 pm
The target folder of images can be set in Tools->Options->Publish->Target folder for file types.

The Site Manager is for HTML pages only.
That only to gives me options to change the folder name but not the hierarchy. Also I would have to change it every time I go into each project.
When I look at the html in my project the image line reads
<img src="images/RolDayGold.jpg" id="MainW_IMG" alt=""></div>
The images are in a subfolder of the html files named images, but no images appear on the pages.
I'm assuming that in the line above, that the html is looking at that sub folder - or should be. Or am I getting the hierarchy wrong?
To simplify, my folder structure is this:-

public_html -
-------|- watchinfo (html)
---------------------|- images (jpg)
(had to put dashes in as spaces are dropped in the post)

I can't see what is going wrong here.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14153
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Pablo » Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:38 am

<img src="images/RolDayGold.jpg" id="MainW_IMG" alt=""></div>
The images are in a subfolder of the html files named images, but no images appear on the pages.
The 'images' folder is set in Tools->Options->Publish->Target folder for file types.

The images will automatically be published to that folder.

Make sure you publish all files.

Rick47
 
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:50 pm

Re: Change Image Folder

Post by Rick47 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 10:27 am

Pablo wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:38 am
<img src="images/RolDayGold.jpg" id="MainW_IMG" alt=""></div>
The images are in a subfolder of the html files named images, but no images appear on the pages.
The 'images' folder is set in Tools->Options->Publish->Target folder for file types.

The images will automatically be published to that folder.

Make sure you publish all files.
Thanks for your patience Pablo, but I obviously wasn't making myself clear.
However, I've resolved the issue myself by adding a leading forward slash to the folder name in Tools->Options->Publish->Target folder for file types.
So now the html finds the sub folder. The images were always in this folder, it was just that the html was not looking at it for the images.
Code line now shows <img src="/images/RolDayGold.jpg" id="MainW_IMG" alt=""></div>.
Thanks for your time.
UPDATE - Now I don't see the images in the local preview mode. Aaaaagh!
What is going on? - this shouldn't be that difficult.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests