properties / encoded chars

This section can be used to submit suggestions for Extension Builder.
Note that this section is not monitored for support.
Forum rules
This forum section can be used to submit suggestions for Extension Builder.
Note that this section is not monitored for support.
Post Reply
User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2145
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

properties / encoded chars

Post by [RZ] » Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:58 pm

i have an extension with a multiline property
once i enter the text and run a preview it shows the encoded characters instead of the html tag
<some&gr; is generated instead of <some>
i tried the multiline, richtext and htmlbox, with the same result

the property in question is a dataset and i'm using an xsl template, the header is:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<xsl:stylesheet xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform" version="1.0">
<xsl:output method="html" version="4.0" indent="yes"/>
<xsl:template match='/'>

i think that it is not related to the xsl, but wb is enconding these chars when it generates the html
also tried options / html -> enable/disable html encoding and didn't help
am i overlooking something?
thanks in advance

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14143
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by Pablo » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:07 pm

All text that you enter through properties will be encoded. This is behavior by design.

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2145
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by [RZ] » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:13 pm

so the multiline, richtext and html properties type have no sense at all :(

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2145
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by [RZ] » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:22 pm

i did another test
if i have a multiline property it works fine (not encoded)
BUT
if i have the same property in a data collection (dataset) wb encodes the property value :(
can you disable the properties-values encoding in a dataset and leave this thing as it is in a standard property?
thanks again

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14143
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by Pablo » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:37 pm

so the multiline, richtext and html properties type have no sense at all
Yes, they control which text editor will be displayed to use user.
if i have the same property in a data collection (dataset) wb encodes the property value
That is because data sets are XML, so the data must be encoded otherwise it will corrupt the XML structure.

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2145
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by [RZ] » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:41 pm

That is because data sets are XML, so the data must be encoded otherwise it will corrupt the XML structure.
got it :(
thanks

em... what about backslashes? \< and \> instead of encoding?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14143
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by Pablo » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:47 pm

No, I don't think that is possible.

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2145
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by [RZ] » Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:56 pm

ok thank you
(however i would give it a try)

User avatar
[RZ]
 
 
Posts: 2145
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: properties / encoded chars

Post by [RZ] » Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:10 pm

just fyi
i solved it, i forgot to set this up programatically in the xsl file - now it works fine
thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests