jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62___**UPDATE**___b5.63

In this section you can share self-made extensions with other users of WYSIWYG Web Builder.

There are already more than 250 extensions available!
User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4494
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.61___**UPDATE**___b5.62

Post by BaconFries » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:47 pm

Nice update Jordan. :D

jordan
 
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62

Post by jordan » Sat Sep 03, 2016 11:36 am

ALguy61 wrote:I'm trying to use the Reposition Mode. I've run into a snag or two. I'm thrilled at what this mode can do. I've used the onscroll mode as well with the http://www.mysmallbusinessally.com opening as well. :D

(1)
I'm using a master frame page along with the Reposition Mode. I've tried it with the master frame page in the same folder or in a different folder and it doesn't seem to affect the outcome.

If I put the page with the reposition mode in a folder, the reposition doesn't work.

If I don't put the page in the folder, it works perfectly (usually).

Is that just a quirk about the reposition mode or ANIMATE extension?

Here are two links to demonstrate the differences between a page outside the Members folder that is under the LOGIN folder and one that is inside the Members folder.

http://mysmallbusinessally.com/LOGIN/login.php

http://mysmallbusinessally.com/LOGIN/Members/login.php

The two pages are identical. I cloned one to make the other one.

A little background... I'm designing a login/database for users of a website. I started a new WWB website to design and test it out. The LOGIN in folder contains my work in progress. I have a different website file that will be the main file for the entire website. I just wanted to get this worked out first and then incorporate it into the main file.

(2)
I've also found that the reposition mode will not modify a ContentPlaceHolder if the ContentPlaceHolder has a transparent background AND NO border. It can't be totally transparent. I'm currently using a dotted border of 1 pix which works. Is this just the way it works?
hi ALguy61,

great you like and experiment!:)

there is too much on the page(s) for me to understand your setup, what your trying to do, and what's wrong ?
as far as what I can see and understand ...

SELECTOR ?
the contentplaceholder on your page is named - MFContentPlaceHolder1
in module reposition the selector is named - ContentPlaceHolder1
- incorrect selector entry !

PROPERTY FULL WIDTH ?
on the contentplaceholder you have entered the property full width as --- pixel-width + window-width
you need to use the command --- 0+win1 - (0 = pixel calculate / +win1 = window/object calculate)
- incorrect property entry !
see my online manual - module | reposition > property construct other mode

ONSCROLL USE ?
your using two JMPv3.0 instances on the same page with (it seems) the same code on the same object(s) ?
- this can produce unexpected behavior !

====== =
RECOMMENDED:
module reposition is a - scripted - solution to do things that are not possible in WB
use module reposition in scenarios that can - not - be achieved with WB !
====== =


hope this helps, else just shout out!:)

ALguy61
 
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:23 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62

Post by ALguy61 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:40 pm

Thanks for your quick response. Thanks again for pointing out the naming error. The second link now works as expected. I had tested the links before posting the original topic and they both worked as expected. When I clicked on them today, the second one didn't work like it should until I corrected the name of the ContentPlaceHolder. Thanks again!


I'm not sure why I changed the full width on the ContentPlaceHolder. The expression that was there came from reading your tutorial. After working with the module a while, it occurred to me that it should be an expression like "150 + window1" and not the literal expression 'pixel-width + window-width' that I had. I had put that "pixel-width + window-width" on other objects and saw no change. When I realized what should be there, I put "0 + window1" and everything worked perfectly.

To illustrate the problem with a totally transparent ContentPlaceHolder, I created a clone of the login page that works correctly and a clone of the MasterFrame page. In the clone of the MasterFrame page, I made sure the style of ContentPlaceHolder1 had the background as transparent and the width of the border as 0. If you go to the links below you will see that the MasterFrame that is totally transparent, doesn't work. I had to give a border to the ContentPlaceHolder1 for it to work. If you look closely at the page that works, you will see a dotted border. I was wondering if this is just a quirk of the module? With the pages I have that work, the border is barely visible which I can accept.

Page that works as expected: http://mysmallbusinessally.com/LOGIN/login.php

Page with ContentPlaceHolder1 that has a transparent background and 0 border. http://mysmallbusinessally.com/LOGIN/login2.php


The other part of my inquiry was about the location of these pages. It seems that if the pages are located in the LOGIN directory, everything works as expected. If I publish the pages to a folder under LOGIN such as LOGIN/Members, the reposition module no longer works. I think I can work around this but I was curious as to what is happening. I'm assuming there are files that are needed in the subfolder that are not being published there.

One of the reasons I like this module is it makes it easier to do responsive designs. You change the width of the browser window down to a much smaller size with no need to change anything. (At least for this particular page)

Thanks again for your help. :D

jordan
 
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62

Post by jordan » Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:51 am

ALguy61 wrote:... it occurred to me that it should be an expression like "150 + window1" and not the literal expression 'pixel-width + window-width' that I had ...
just to be sure, the command is literal, 0+win1 - not - 0 + window1 - no spaces no embellishments
ALguy61 wrote:... To illustrate the problem with a totally transparent ContentPlaceHolder, I created a clone of the login page that works correctly and a clone of the MasterFrame page. In the clone of the MasterFrame page, I made sure the style of ContentPlaceHolder1 had the background as transparent and the width of the border as 0. If you go to the links below you will see that the MasterFrame that is totally transparent, doesn't work. I had to give a border to the ContentPlaceHolder1 for it to work. If you look closely at the page that works, you will see a dotted border. I was wondering if this is just a quirk of the module? With the pages I have that work, the border is barely visible which I can accept.

Page that works as expected: http://mysmallbusinessally.com/LOGIN/login.php

Page with ContentPlaceHolder1 that has a transparent background and 0 border. http://mysmallbusinessally.com/LOGIN/login2.php ...
I can not see any difference between both links, - both - pages display a dotted border on the contentplaceholder for me ?
ALguy61 wrote:... The other part of my inquiry was about the location of these pages. It seems that if the pages are located in the LOGIN directory, everything works as expected. If I publish the pages to a folder under LOGIN such as LOGIN/Members, the reposition module no longer works. I think I can work around this but I was curious as to what is happening. I'm assuming there are files that are needed in the subfolder that are not being published there. ...
if you change the directory manual it is possible the path don't match, yes - does it work in WB preview ?
I have to see a live example to say anything meaningful about this

ALguy61
 
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:23 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62

Post by ALguy61 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:49 pm

If you test the two links, you should be able to see the difference now. I thought that I had changed the MasterFrame page being used by one of the pages but it reverted back to the one with the dotted border. It's been weird how something doesn't work checking with a couple of browsers and then all of a sudden it now works. Go figure!

Yes, I meant to put win1 instead of the window1. What I think I've typed is often different from what I actually type. :lol:

Thanks for your patience and help with this.

I'm always looking for new extensions 1) to ease the creation of web pages and 2) to make them more enjoyable for the viewer.

You exention builders are phenomenol to say the least. It seems most of you have the heart of a teacher. Thanks!

jordan
 
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62

Post by jordan » Tue Sep 06, 2016 12:39 pm

ah, ok-ay, I see now:) - it is a concept variation

with a border set the contentplaceholder becomes an actual physical object on your page
that is why you can then target it with module reposition, it then works
when no border is set on the contentplaceholder, WB will not display the actual contentplaceholder itself, only it's content
in that scenario module reposition will not work, as there is nothing to target, the object does not exist

try this solution ...
- set a border on the contentplaceholder in WB
- add to the - contentplaceholder > Object HTML > Custom Style > border-width:0px;

ALguy61
 
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:23 pm
Location: Alabama
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62

Post by ALguy61 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:20 am

Thanks for the reply I will check out your suggestion and see if it works. I just thought it was odd that it would make such a difference. It took me a few tries to nail down which settings were getting in the way of it working.

Thanks again!

jordan
 
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 b5.62___**UPDATE**___b5.63

Post by jordan » Wed May 31, 2017 1:58 pm

jor_aniMateMASTERPACKv3.0 build 5.63 - UPDATE!

this update releases JMPv3.0 momentumscroll function plus adds and fixes some additional functions

for full update history, demos, tutorials and download see top post

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests