Google Maps API v3 ***Re-Released 17/07/2014***

In this section you can share self-made extensions with other users of WYSIWYG Web Builder.

There are already more than 250 extensions available!
User avatar
Islander
 
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:03 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Post by Islander » Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:42 am

Hi BaconFries, I've tested this extension and it just works great! I have to thank you for giving us this possibility to include Googlemaps. Wish you well. :D :D

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Post by BaconFries » Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:01 pm

@ Islander thank you glad it was of use to you... :D

User avatar
Islander
 
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:03 pm
Location: Mauritius
Contact:

Post by Islander » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:24 pm

Hi BaconFries,
Can an html link be included in the ballon box?
I've tried to add the follw:
<a href="http://www.w3schools.com">This is a link</a>
but on preview the map doesn't show up. Is this causing an error?

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Post by BaconFries » Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:09 pm

@ Islander I will try and get a look at this tonight and see if I can fix this as it should be possible to just write like this
<br>Website: <a href="http://www.yoursite.com"</a></br>

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Post by BaconFries » Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:17 pm

If you wish to use the extension then it will require a api key this is only available if you have a google account you can make a account here
https://www.google.com/accounts/Service ... ageAccount
once you have this then you will need to access this url
http://code.google.com/apis/maps/signup.html to get your key scroll down the page to were it says My web site URL: insert your site address like this http://www.kgband.no/ and then generate your key....

may I ask how quickly that you need to use the map the reason for asking is I am working on a newer version of the map that will use API v3 and it doesnt need any API key to work it only requires that you input details such as the latitude, longitude etc and the country code it is still a couple of days work but if you can wait it will save you having to use a api key...

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Post by BaconFries » Fri Sep 10, 2010 4:09 pm

***Update 10/09/10***
Google Maps Javascript API Version 3 this version superseeds all previous versions of the Google map extension I ask that all users update to this version as Google maps v2 official Javascript API has been officially deprecated as per Googles deprecation policy.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Post by BaconFries » Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:52 pm

Your welcome :D I hope that you find it useful...

User avatar
JimmyJazz
 
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by JimmyJazz » Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:45 pm

Hi baconfries,

I've just loaded v3 & input the co-ordinates but all I get is a greyed out box with the google logo, the zoom + & - , the scale chart reading 1 metre to 1 foot and the map, satellite, hybrid, terrain box.

I have removed v1 google maps.

I have published the whole site locally & tried to view the page with the map from their & also from the preview in wysiwyg software.

I'm puzzled why this is not working?

Any clues would be appreciated.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by BaconFries » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:24 pm

It looks like you may have inserted the long & lat in the wrong properties try reversing the way you have it a present, also just keep map ID as "map"

Note: Like Pablo I too will be away from the 5th to the 9th Dec...I will try to answer all questions as soon as I can...

User avatar
JimmyJazz
 
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by JimmyJazz » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:16 pm

Hi Baconfries,

I had already read previous posts about both suggestions & tried to no avail. :(

lat & long is correct & I am uninstalling & re-installing & trying to only input the lat/long & leaving all other parameters the same but when I preview or publish locally I am getting same problem.

I have even cleared the cache.

I have just upgraded from 7.0.0 to the latest version, could this be the reason I am having problems?

BTW......................thanks for fast response to earlier query 8)

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by BaconFries » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:24 pm

If at all possible can you provide a url to the page the map/extension is on it would allow me to see what my be wrong... also note that this version of the extensiondoes not require you to use a API key as it is no longer needed or if this is not possible can you provide the cordinates so that I may try them...
___________________________________________________________________________________________
Note: Like Pablo I too will be away from the 5th to the 9th Dec...I will try to answer all questions as soon as I can...

User avatar
JimmyJazz
 
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by JimmyJazz » Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:36 pm

Hi Baconfries,

unsure what to do or say........my big fault in life is trying to be a perfectionist & I have been creating the content for this site for a good few months now. I still have to add many features to this site & it is not yet ready for publishing.

However, I have deleted many of the pages & I am leaving just the basic pages for each state with only one page now attempting to use the google map.

If you could look at this page & give me some feedback on how to makit function I would really appreciate it.


http://www.spy.my/penang/queens.html

fyi..............i have only tried it in firefox & chrome.

tia

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4410
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by BaconFries » Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:16 pm

Ok I have taken a look at your site and I have got a copy of the cordinates that you used I have tried these in the extension using IE7 and this is the result see Image 1... the address of thre club/bar in the site or location gives me different cordinates see image 2 I dont know what one you wish to use but I have tried both and are working in Preview using IE7..... you can also use this site to get you long and lat cordinates
http://www.backups.nl/geocoder.html

____________________________________________________________________________________________
Note: Like Pablo I too will be away from the 5th to the 9th Dec...I will try to answer all questions as soon as I can...
Last edited by BaconFries on Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JimmyJazz
 
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by JimmyJazz » Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:11 pm

Hi bacon,

I surrender for tonight, i got a bit stressed & had a few beers.

I will look back 2moro with a clear head. However my browser did not reveal the same result as yours!

I will review 2moro before I post reply.

In the meantime many thanks for you trying to help me, it is appreciated 8)

User avatar
JimmyJazz
 
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Google Maps API v3 ***Update 13/09/10***

Post by JimmyJazz » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:10 am

Hi Bacon,

The first map you posted gave incorrect location.

The 2nd map is the location of a map on another page & is correct for that location.

I deleted all google maps from the site & reloaded google maps into wwbs7.

I have checked the coordinates with the site you provided & input them into google map for that location.

I still cannot view the map, it is just greyed out. This is the only map installed on the site now. I have tried to view in ie, chrome & ffox & cannot view in any.

I have google maps installed in mydocs/wysiwyg,system/extensions

I am running version 7.2.1 & I am using google maps from this link http://www.mediafire.com/?ozl6by1pbb3ueyj

Is this correct or does it have to be installed in C/program files/wysiwyg?

The only webpage with a map installed is this one:

http://spy.my/penang/queens.html

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests