format of form data

Issues related to forms.
adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:46 pm

HI Pablo
You should have an email now.
The form's only fussy about two fields -'name' and 'email' - but you need to fill in enough data (more than 2 lines) in order to see the effect with the added spaces.
Thanks
Adrian

adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:47 pm

Form is currently set to return 'rich text'
A

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16731
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: format of form data

Post by Pablo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:52 pm

I have received the email now.
I also have the extra spaces. I have never seen this before.

Do you have the possibility to test the same form on another server so we can be sure it's not an issue of the server?

adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:58 pm

HI Pablo
'Fraid not - all of my own hosting, (and this particular client's hosting) is in the same place.

The wbs file is up on the server - www.mast.ie/Adrian-application-form-dec-2017.wbs - or I can upload / email you a template file if that's easier?
Thanks
Adrian

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16731
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: format of form data

Post by Pablo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:06 pm

I have uploaded the exact same form to my own website and it seems to work correct on this server.

adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:11 pm

HI Pablo

Ah - thanks....
So I guess I need to talk to my webhosts..?
Something weird with the php versions, perhaps?
Any ideas as to what questions to ask them..?

I guess, if we can get to the bottom of it, this might end up curing the original problem - which was that the plain text form submission arrived at my client's email program as a single line of data, rather than having line-feeds? (He said hopefully!)

Thanks
Adrian

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16731
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: format of form data

Post by Pablo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:29 pm

I'm sorry, I have never seen this so I do not know what exactly to look for.
If may be something in the server mail configuration.

adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:52 pm

HI Pablo
Thanks for your help.
It's looking like a can of worms! - not only the 'free' spaces, but also the odd way that checkboxes are being reported if not checked...
So, having spent an unexpected additional 4 hours looking into this, and with the prospect of an additional unspecified time wrangling with the server support folks - I've emailed the client to ask how much if an issue the 'all on one line' thing is?

If only life were simple!
Thanks
Adrian

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16731
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: format of form data

Post by Pablo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:07 pm

but also the odd way that checkboxes are being reported if not checked...
When a checkbox is not checked then the browser will not send any data to the server. This is standard HTML behavior.

adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:34 pm

HI Pablo

Yes - that's what I'd expect.....

But - in the example reported above, and copied below.... something strange is going on... in that the variable name seems to be getting returned, rather than the actual value of the variable itself, or 'nothing' if the check-box isn't selected.

====quote from earlier post===
The form has a number of questions where one or more checkboxes can be ticked.
In the fragment below these checkboxes are named Public-Liability, Public-Liability-Food-Only, Public-Liability-other-then-Food, Employers-Liability, and Goods-in-Transit - and are initially set to 'not checked', and, when ticked, have a value of 'yes'

In the Form Processor Message panel, I have, for example
===starts
Benefits required -
Public Liability :$Public-Liability
Public Liability Food Only :$Public-Liability-Food-Only
Public Liability other than Food :$Public-Liability-other-than-Food
Employers Liability :$Employers-Liability
Goods in Transit :$Goods-in-Transit
===ends

Which returns the following in the email when the 1st, 3rd and 5th boxes are ticked
===starts
P ublic Liability :yes
Public Liability Food Only :yes-Food-Only
Publ ic Liability other than Food :yes-other-than-Food
Employers Liability :$ Employers-Liability
Goods in Transit :yes
===ends

Don't worry about it over-much - I'm suggesting to the client that their having all of the form data on one line (they need to copy/paste it into a word-based form anyway) is a small price to pay.....

Hopefully they'll agree.
Thanks
Adrian

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16731
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: format of form data

Post by Pablo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:35 pm

in that the variable name seems to be getting returned, rather than the actual value of the variable itself, or 'nothing' if the check-box isn't selected.
Correct, because there is no data so the variable is not replaced.

adrian5750
 
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:17 pm

Re: format of form data

Post by adrian5750 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:58 pm

Mmm - that's logical - but it makes the emailed data look very strange!
Adrian

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests