Bookmarks not working

Issues related to hyperlinks and web site navigation.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/links.html
Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Tue May 22, 2018 6:07 pm

I am having a problem with bookmarks and would appreciate some help please.
I have set up bookmarks to select different points in a large text box containing different pieces of information and links in another web page to these bookmarks. When I clink on the link it takes me to the right web page containing the bookmarks but not to the exact location of the bookmark - about 3 lines too low so that I have to scroll to the start of the item of bookmarked text.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Pablo » Tue May 22, 2018 6:30 pm

To be able to help you I need to see what you have done.

Note however that not all browsers render text in the exact same way, so there may be some offset.

Related FAQ:
https://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum ... 10&t=34318

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Wed May 23, 2018 8:02 am

Thanks Pablo. I have checked the website in both IE and Edge with the same results. In what form do you 'need to see what I have done - the site wbs file?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Pablo » Wed May 23, 2018 8:17 am

What is the URL of the page?

Did you check whether the issue is related to the text rather than the the position of the bookmark?

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Wed May 23, 2018 5:59 pm

The URL is
www.midcheshireos.co.uk

Not sure how to check whether it is the text or the bookmark. The hyperlink is certainly connected to the right bookmark.

Mike

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Pablo » Wed May 23, 2018 6:22 pm

Thank for hte link, but where exactly do I need to go to see the problem?

But I see you have a lot of text, so I'm pretty sure it is related to the variable length of the text.
The only way to get around that is by adding the anchor to the text itself.

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Wed May 23, 2018 6:29 pm

You need to go to the Trip Reports menu item and select an item from the Sites Selected sub-menu.

I have tried many ways to add the bookmark but is there a special way of adding one to a text item i.e. like you would with a hyperlink?

Regards

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Pablo » Wed May 23, 2018 7:02 pm

It looks like you have used the HTML textbox to create the text?
Unfortunately there is no way to get pixel perfect results when using this extension . It was created a long time ago and uses MSHTML (the rendering engine of IE), but this is no longer maintained.

In standard text you can add a bookmark by adding a 'dummy' link in the text.
In the URL field enter '#'
Then in the Advanced properties set the ID, this will be the name of the bookmark.

Now you can select that name in the link bookmark properties.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4189
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by BaconFries » Wed May 23, 2018 7:03 pm

Viewing your source I do not see any reference to bookmarks. Did you drag'n'drop the Bookmark Object to beside the section of text you wish to go to? I also notice the you are using a extension to add paragraphs for the text I can't say for sure but you may not be able to use the Bookmark Object with this so you will simp need to add the text with the Text Object and then place the Bookmark Object to the section of text needed and then link to it.

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Wed May 23, 2018 7:13 pm

Thanks for your help. I will try your suggestions but as I am about to go on holiday may not be able to do anything immediately.
I used the HTML Textbox because I wanted to add formatted text to flow round images which does not seem possible by any other route. I used to use S***f We***us which was easy to use formatted text and images.

Regards

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Wed May 23, 2018 7:15 pm

Ooops - should have replied fully to your last post! Yes I did use drag 'n' drop with the bookmarks.

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:55 am

Pablo
I have now returned from holiday and have tried your suggestion but am struggling with exactly how to do what you have suggested. How and where do I set up a dummy link and I do not understand where to put the # in the URL box as this only appears when a link is set to an external web page.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Pablo » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:00 am

- select text
- click the 'Link' button
- set the URL to: #
- Go to the Advanced tab of the link properties
- set the ID, this will be the name of the bookmark.

Myeyeon
 
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Myeyeon » Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:25 am

This is what I have been trying but it does not work. Do I have to select 'External Web Address' in the Link to: box when you select the Edit Link properties? This is the only option that allows for a URL address.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14545
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Bookmarks not working

Post by Pablo » Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:18 am

Do I have to select 'External Web Address' in the Link to box
Correct
This is what I have been trying but it does not work
What exactly does not work?
It seems to work ok for me.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests