Page 1 of 1

Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:32 am
by fingerstyle
Greetings to all from the frozen tundra in Massachusetts. I'm trying to make a simple update to my website and 4 hours later i am still stuck. I'm trying to create a link that when clicked downloads a PDF file. I've done this before but now I cannot. The FTP file is on the same server as the rest of the website.

I made the page and when I click Preview it works just fine. when I up load and click the link I get an authentication notice that it is trying to connect to an FTP server. This has to be something simple but I'm stuck.

What am I missing?

Thanks

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:27 am
by BaconFries
See the following on how to add a link. Note as your are linking to a PDF you will find that it will open in the browser to get round this you can simply add a line of text saying "right click to save"
Links

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:44 am
by fingerstyle
Thanks, I think I've done all that is mentioned in your link. I have multiple download links on the website and they all work. its the new one that is giving me trouble. I build the page then preview the page and it downloads the PDF. After I up load it downs't ....If I right click on the link the FTP login appears, when I click out of that I get the save as box...I'm guessing it has something to do with the FTP setting??

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:47 am
by BaconFries
To be able to give a more definite answer it is always best to provide a working url so that we can view it and then say what may be wrong.

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:54 am
by fingerstyle
Here you go..Its the link in the small Scottish Flag button

http://www.jeffsnow.net/2018_PR.html

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:57 am
by Pablo
The filename is invalid (not web safe). There should be spaces in filenames.
https://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum ... f=10&t=131

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:18 pm
by fingerstyle
so ..digging a wee bit more..When the page gets uploaded the address is somehow changed from http to ftp...

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:25 pm
by Pablo
Didn't you set it to ftp yourself?
It looks like you have intentionally specified a FTP address.

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:51 pm
by fingerstyle
Here the URL I used in the link box http://jeffsnow@jeffsnow.net/2017%20PR/JeffPR2018.pdf If I preview it publishes locally and it works.. If I publish the page I get the FTP box

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:54 pm
by fingerstyle
FYI..I've done this for several years changing it as I needed to without incident. I just realized that I ma using an older version 10.4.8 would a software upgrade fix the problem?

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:03 pm
by Pablo
I'm sorry but the path is wrong, there should not be spaces in URLs.
This is unrelated to the version of WWB you are using.

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:18 pm
by fingerstyle
Thank you for trying to help me fix this

On the same page there are pictures that if you click will download a high resolution version. Pasted below is the link for one of the picutres and the link for the PR file. One works one doesn't. both files are in the same folder on the server.

http://jeffsnow@jeffsnow.net/2017%20PR/2017PR2.jpg this works

http://jeffsnow@jeffsnow.net/2017%20PR/JeffPR2018.pdf this doesn't

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:19 pm
by Pablo
Please remove the space, then it should work every time.
If not, then please share the project

Note however that version 10 is no longer supported. Version 12 should have no problems with modern browsers, if the links are valid.

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:22 pm
by fingerstyle
thanks for your patience...where is the space I should remove?

Re: Can't make Link link

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:12 pm
by fingerstyle
Got it...I think...It was an upload issue with go daddy nothing with your software....Checking more later but on first pass it works.. many thanks